sundog

January 14, 2009

My Mum will be the death of me

Filed under: My Life — happychick @ 6.38p01

I’ve come to the conclusion that my parents really are lunatics. Going to boarding school meant that I only had to see them a couple of times a year, which was great, but now, having finished school, I’m forced to live with them for a couple of months before University, and they are driving me INSANE.

I guess I’m no different to a lot of other teenagers, whose parents are a bit eccentric and, like mine, can be overwhelming, but seriously- will it never end? My Mum is the worst- can Alzheimer’s set in at 41? She’s lost her marbles, and it’s enough to make you cut your wrists (not really, self mutilation=BAD). Figuratively speaking.

 

But I love her all the same. She’s a lunatic, for sure- she’s unpredictable and at times undesirable, but she’s kind and loyal and always up for a laugh. I think that’s where I get it from- because for sure, I’m just the same. I’m as eccentric as they come, a little crazy, a little moody, a little outspoken. But I’m not a bad person. I honestly think (and this might just be my ignorance talking) that people misunderstand me because I just don’t think the same way other girls do. I’m honest- sometimes brutally so, and people can be affronted by that. Similarly, I’m not overly vain- I don’t post photos on my Facebook because they’re taken from a good angle and make me look super hot- I post them because they reflect my personality, or they’re symbolic as to what I was doing at the time, or they’re just plain funny. I’ve got a lot of friends and I get along with almost everyone, but I’ve never been “popular”. I’ve had my share of boyfriends and what have you but I’ve never considered myself “hot”. I’m not even sure I know where all this is going but I’m in a ranting, confessional mood and I think I’m entitled to waffle on aimlessly every once in a while (or more often than not).

 

LOL. I saw the Irishman again today (refer a couple of posts below for full story)- it was pretty awkward, he was all cute and Irish and I was trying to stop myself drooling and start thinking straight before I ended up in his car with my shirt off.

I might digress as we progress- when we were in England, Casey, Cheese and I made a point of talking to other foreigners we met in elevators. We figured “we’re from Australia, they don’t know us here”. So each time I’d step into the lift I’d flash a smile and ask “where are you from?”, and the next time I saw my mates I’d say “Oh my God I just met China/Spain/Mexico!”. It was actually really cool meeting so many different people, but a lot of them (like this family from Barcelona) didn’t speak English so it was awkward but funny. It also gave us a chance to suss out which countries we’d like to visit because they had hot boys. For example, we decided boys from Macedonia were cute but rude, English boys were adorable but mostly had bad teeth, and Spain was definitely where we were headed next because the guys were, on the whole, totally hot and really nice! (except these two guys who we sat with on the bus- they spent the whole time talking in Spanish and making fun of us! L)

Anyway, it became a bit of a running joke so I messaged the girls the other night after the incident with the Irishman and said “Oh my God I just got asked out by Ireland!”. They thought it was pretty funny in light of my new obsession with all things Irish (again, refer below).

 

Ok that was super long and I can only assume super boring, I’ve got the rest of the arvo off work (it’s 1.30pm here in Aus), I’m going to wrap my friends birthday present (she’s 18 tomorrow!) and probably watch a Bruce Willis movie. Later x x x

 

P.S. Nitaro- Heck yes I have Facebook, I searched your email and added you, let me know if it worked!

 

P.P.S Keeping with my count-down until I’m 18, there are only 260 days to go!!

 

P.P.P.S I find out if I got into University tomorrow. Pray for me, if you’re into that, if not, keep me in your thoughts!

2 Comments »

  1. *facepalm* I can’t believe what you just typed here.

    Comment by Anonymous — January 23, 2011 @ 6.38p01

  2. My dad’s a lunatic and I hate him because he terrorized me like crazy.

    Comment by Anonymous — February 9, 2016 @ 6.38p02


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

