sundog

December 28, 2007

I am sooo freaking pissed.

Filed under: My Life — happychick @ 6.38p12

Sometimes in life shit things happen that leave you unexplainably devastated- I’m not talking about the death of a loved one or a life-changing illness, but about those little things that piss you off more than anything. Like when your phone is stolen- it’s not just the material value, it’s the phone numbers, the means of contacting others, all that jazz. Or when you go back to the store only to find that awesome handbag you wanted was sold half an hour ago. You wanted that handbag. You were all worked up to buy it, you’d planned your evening’s outfit around it, and it’s absence throws life into chaos. Or when you get home from work and the house is messy and the floors are dirty and you know it’ll take all night to clean. All you want to do is sleep, but you know you’ll never be able to knowing the sink is full of dishes.

My favorite band in the world is HIM. They’re a Finnish rock band, a little screamo, a whole lot metal. The lead singer is Ville Valo. He’s the type of guy that occupies your thoughts and your dreams and most of your wall space. So I found out today that they’re coming to Australia, and to the city nearest where I live. I was ecstatic. I was going. Mum said yes. I mean, imagine it, being IN THE SAME ROOM as the person you admire and fantasize about most in the world. I was going to see Ville Valo. I was going to see HIM. I was going to sing along and laugh at his drunken antics. I was going to cry at all the right moments and end up pashing a HIM fan much too old for me. I was going to see HIM.

The feeling was short-lived. It’s an over 18s event. I’d snuck into a club with Mum once before but there was no way I was getting in without some quality fake ID- even Mum said it was risky and not worth the money I’d spend on the ticket.

I’m devastated. For me, there’s never been anyone else but Ville. My boyfriend used to get jealous that I spoke so fondly (and so frequently) of him. My best mates tell me when they see randoms in Heartagram Tees because they know the depth of my obsession. My Mum forgives the fact that my wardrobe walls are cramped with dozens of posters of the same man in heavy makeup. For some, my Valo obsession defines me.

Mum thought it was a little pathetic that I cried over the whole affair, but she wouldn’t understand. Just as she loved Sherbet as a teen, HIM is my lifeblood. She tried to cheer me up by insisting that when I am 18 I can go to Finland and stalk them all I like.

But if they’re no longer together 2 years from now? I can’t even bear to think about it.

1 Comment »

  1. Deaest Ash,

    My sincere condolences for your loss of opporutunity in meeting Ville.
    I am quite aware, like many of those who know you, how deeply your passion for the man runs.

    Little things that annoy oneself. hmmm, Like the possibility of Shaun Tait being selected for the Aus Vs India second test? or guys that think the Western Warriors are a rugby team whilse claiming to be a cricket experts? ah yes, i know what you mean. Especially on account of the CHASERS COMING TO PERTH FOR A SHOW AND IT MIGHT BE AN OVER 18 THING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So yes, i do feel your pain.

    P.S cricket tickets are sold at the door for the pura/rangers matches.

    Lv Anushka xoxo

    Comment by Anushka — December 31, 2007 @ 6.38p12


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

