sundog

September 21, 2007

Sex on the TV- Everybody’s had it

Filed under: My Life — happychick @ 6.38p09

There was a time when I had it all. I was good looking- naturally thin, tanned, on medication that more than eradicated any hint of acne. I was popular- I had a nice boyfriend, a number of close friends, and even those who weren’t my mates wanted to be. Boys found me pretty and approachable, and girls found me not intimidating, but elegant. I was clever- I’d do nothing in class and yet still come across “smart”- I was, in another’s words, “the best student in the school”. I had a fun job, which I enjoyed, and thus, money at my disposal. I had a great relationship with my family and a natural calm and ease in going about things- I thought I was perfect. How things change in 12 short months. I still “have it all”- but in a decidedly different way. Not so good looking, for a start. My “fun” job made me chubby- and everyone knows that when a person gains weight, the hardest thing in the world is to lose it again. Not so tanned anymore, either- moving across the countryside means that the once-sunny town became the cold and ultimately dreary city. The medication stopped and the acne returned- to a lesser extent, mind you. I now spend hundreds on skin care and still more on make-up- my biggest problem is the oil and that’s a hard thing to control. Boys still find me good looking- fewer boys, usually young men in their suped-up cars, which is less flattering than teenagers my own age paying compliments. The fact that I’m still relatively popular among my peers is now only through hard work and a tiny bit of sucking-up, and I’m the last person I’d choose to signify “elegant”… I am, however, clever. I have to work day and night for this to be so, but I’m up there with the best. They say no one can get anywhere without hard work- I sure as hell better be getting somewhere pretty bloody special for the effort I’m putting in. The odd thing about it all- the thing that makes it almost seem worthwhile, is that I like it better this way- I like having to work out every day after school to lose all those cheeseburgers and hash browns. I enjoy 4 after-school study hours a day. I know I’m working towards something. I know I’m achieving and it’s not my high cheekbones or ability to charm that’s making it happen- it’s me. Holidays are coming up very very quickly- something I’m unspeakably relieved about. It’ll be my 16th birthday in 10 days, and I’ll be celebrating it with the most amazing person I know- my Mum. I had a record number of “it’s a small world” moments today- two, to be exact. The first was at our brother school. I’d been staring like a goon at the boy across from me, and, unable to help myself, proclaimed “It’s crazy but I know you”- he told me where he’s from, and it turns out we were in the same class back in 1998. He still doesn’t have a clue who I am- but 9 years later I could still pick Matt’s face. The second occurred this evening at Bree’s house. When I mentioned what school I attended her Mum asked is I knew Brooke V- I said of course, she’s in my RE class. Nush and I are going out for dinner tomorrow night. It’ll be the first of many A and A Birthdays, if I have any say in it. If I could, every birthday would be spent with my bestie. Sorry it’s been so long since I wrote- I really hope this entertains you long enough to leave a comment.

2 Comments »

  1. You appreciate things more when you work hard for them 🙂

    Comment by Mr Angry — September 23, 2007 @ 6.38p09

  2. You’re wrong if you think that everyone has sex on TV.

    Comment by Anonymous — April 4, 2011 @ 6.38p04


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

