sundog

July 19, 2007

I cannot explain it. Paranormal

Filed under: My Life — happychick @ 6.38p07

It’s no secret to you regulars on this site that I’m a little left-of-centre. As much as being different has become the “in thing”, and trends like “emo” have emerged, it’s still difficult to be a… whatever you’d label me, in a world like ours.

I have premonitions. I know, alarm bells ringing, crazy person begins to talk all “Final Destination” and whatever. It’s nothing like that. The spiritual world, magic, the “other dimension”- I’m not sure what you guys call it, if anything at all- it’s not something I like to dabble in. It’s not something to be toyed with and, if encountered, it’s not something to be taken lightly. In my opinion, anyway.

I got a feeling last holidays. I was talking to my friend and I said to her, “You know, I have never been to a school where someone has died”. Three days later Rhi died in hospital after a long fight with cancer. It was upsetting, it was bizarre- but it wasn’t supernatural. I had a feeling. That’s all. It happens.

About a week and a half later I was out fishing with my family. Our boat is, massive. But I was afraid. A phobia of sharks isn’t uncommon. But I had a feeling. I call them premonitions, though no vision has to occur. We spent the day on the ocean and saw little more than a sea turtle. The very next day Stepfather and his friend went fishing to the same area. Two tiger sharks circled the boat for ten minutes. Like I said, our boat is massive- nothing happened.

Seemingly insignificant things like predicting what afternoon tea the ladies at boarding will serve, and knowing whether a fellow classmate has passed or failed their assessment doesn’t freak me out- but it’s bizarre. These things happen. My Mum believes me, but she’s one of few who do. I was called crazy tonight. I don’t mind so much. Perhaps it’s too much for some to handle.

Maybe I’m imagining it. Like my tendency to be a hypochondriac, perhaps I want so badly to be set apart that I force these things into my head. But I don’t think so. My mother is the biggest skeptic out, but she told me that everyone has the ability to see, or experience abnormalities, but only some tap into that.

Am I crazy? I’m not planning to grow up and make money from fortune telling. I don’t claim to know what the future holds or when the apocalypse is due. It happens. That’s all I know. To be honest it is a little scary. I can’t get on a plane and know whether my uneasy feeling is natural nerves, or something more sinister. Sinister’s not the right word, but you understand. Don’t you?

And yet another happychick ramble that I cannot explain. It sucks being such a control freak and not knowing whether, at 15, you’re losing your mind.

4 Comments »

  1. You are not losing your mind hon….well if you are you have company. 😀

    My most vivid memory of one of many experiences I’ve had along those lines:

    This one was a dream – though most are not. Me, my husband, my Grandmother are on an elevator in the local hospital. There is a clock 12:30 PM. We go to the 3rd floor. The elevator door opens. A sign says women with an arrow pointing to the right. We go that direction to see a woman who is very ill. I don’t know in the dream who it is, but am very concerned.

    The dream was so vivid I woke my husband and told him about it.

    That afternoon at 12:30 me, my husband and my Grandmother are on an elevator in the local hospital, going to the 3rd floor to see my mother who is in serious condition with a gallstone so big it has cut her bile duct and seeping into her abdomen. My husband looks at me and says this is creaping me out. He told his dad about it. Father in law looks at me and says, ‘Sandra, do me a favor, don’t EVER dream about me!”

    Like you, I never know if these things are warnings or imagination….until they come to pass. I’ve just learned how not to worry about it. If I get strong feelings not to do something though, I listen. I think it’s my guardian angel warning me and I keep her/him busy enough.

    Comment by Sandra — July 24, 2007 @ 6.38p07

  2. I have a brother who believes he gets guidance from aboriginal dream spirits (despite being a whitefellah and not remotely hippy-ish). I have a very intelligent friend whos is part of an occult group that does strange things.

    I’m not saying you aren’t crazy, but at least you aren’t alone 😉

    Comment by Mr Angry — July 27, 2007 @ 6.38p07

  3. Oh Ash, you are so not alone. I think a lot of it is just intuition. Those senses that scientists don’t fully acknowledge (6th and 7th) the existence of. But in my opinion, they do. If humans only use 10% (I think that number’s right) of their brains…..well what the hell are we doing with the other 90%? Intuitive efforts among many other things, I think. Or maybe I’m completely wrong. But it’s more comforting thinking I’m right 🙂

    Comment by Shona — August 22, 2007 @ 6.38p08

  4. I’m glad that you’re not making money off of fortune telling ’cause that kind of profession is bad because it’s harmful. But you have to grow up because it’s important for all people to do that. If you don’t grow up, then your life’s useless.

    Unlike Sandra and like Mr. Angry, I do believe that your crazy.

    Comment by Anonymous — March 13, 2011 @ 6.38p03


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

