sundog

June 8, 2007

Friday Night Again- Listening to Taking Back Sunday in my Jammies.

Filed under: Friends, My Life, School — happychick @ 6.38p06

My Mum once had food poisoning- she said she thought she was going to die. She was curled up and rocking- I’ve never seen anything quite like it. Now, I’m not experiencing food poisoning or anything of the sort- but I am that kind of ill you simply cannot shake.

The ill that makes your head throb like someone’s cracked you with a cricket bat. The ill that has you writhing with stomach pain, feeling weak and… well, as if you’re going to die.

Okay, reading back over that it was a little dramatic- I’ve never handled sickness well, and being in the middle of exams makes things no better.

I had my Human Bio exam yesterday- an easy pass, although I’m disappointed that I didn’t study as hard as I could’ve, or should’ve. Maths is on Monday morning (*vomit*), English Lit on Tuesday arvo, and Media last on Wednesday.

I spoke to Shona the other day online. She’s dropped out of school and is moving across the country. I’m a big believer in a good education and it really threw me when she said she’d thrown in the towel. Thinking about it now, though, it was probably the best thing she could’ve done. She’s the definition of “alternative”- to put it bluntly, she’s a new-age hippie. I’ve had a look at the alternative school she’s thinking about enrolling in, and all I can say is- go for it. The place was made for you, and people like you- and I’m sure you’ll find a hundred kindred spirits.

The long weekend was a great break. My Nan lives near this amazing lake, and I made a point of going for a walk around it every morning while I was there. The great thing about morning walks, I find, is the utter lack of teenage life. None of our generation will get up before 11 if they have the choice. And so the majority of people I encountered on these “strolls” were the retirees- friendly and smiley and almost always replying to my polite “Good Morning”. It was interesting, though- my friend and I were walking to the shopping centre and we passed an older man going the opposite way. Out of habit I said hello, and Nush looked at me in surprise- “Do you know him?” she asked, after he had replied, and was out of ear shot. Of course not, I thought. It struck me then how distant people have become from one another. Maybe it’s the age of technology, with an iPod plugged in and a phone in hand (I’m not one to talk, mind you- I’m terrible in terms of my iPod taking over my life). Maybe it’s just the fear of invading another person’s personal space. I don’t know what it is, and can provide no insight- but it’s saddening, all the same. When did people become so isolated?

My Mum can be decidedly immature sometimes. It still trips me out to realize that this woman, whom I look up to so damn much, is human too and can really be an idiot when the mood strikes her. She says things that are clearly a ploy to make her seem tough/ funny/ independent. It gets me thinking, when do people grow up? Is there a stage in a persons’ life where they are fully mature, responsible adults? The answer is clearly no- and when I meet one of these fabled adults, I shall be sure to let you know.

Interestingly enough, the ex and I had a long chat online on the weekend. We haven’t spoken for months (not since the last time I was decidedly rude to him at his school). It was all a bit surreal. He had a lot to say, none of it particularly abusive or even important- but interesting all the same. We talked about the ex-friend and his spineless internet dumping of her- his reasons were alarming, to tell the truth. I didn’t need to be told she was a rebound that he used to “try to get over me”. I certainly didn’t want to be privy to a comparison of the two relationships- not only rude to her, but unpleasant for myself. That said, I was glad for a chance to apologize- I’ll be the first to admit I’ve acted like a twat since Christmas, and it’s nice to be back on “Speaking terms”.

To Jon- 6 months isn’t bad at all. Happy Birthday. My Mum always said I’d be lucky to make it to seventeen- we’ll see if she’s right.

What else is there to share? Life goes on, “much as it has this past age”, and things don’t look set on changing drastically too soon. My close friend Tarn says I should “make a move” on a certain male friend- I asked her why she thought so. It seems as though she too has fallen into the “I’m nothing without a boyfriend” trap- I told her politely that I’m not looking for a boy, and it’s true- relationships are so much hassle it’s not even feasible for me to waste my time.

But, should Ville Valo come along I would gladly change my mind- the man is divine and I wouldn’t give THAT up for all the Grape Hubba Bubba in the world.

4 Comments »

  1. i don’t like the exams nor the exam time so i just wish you luck with the rest of your exams!
    and well if ever found that unique matured human, take lots of pictures cos i really wanna see how i was supposed to look like. my wife says there’s not much difference between me and my baby girl except she’s more matured than me most of the times. i think persons get worse as they grow older, it just has a up and down diagram, growing up, going through all those teenage shit , pretending you can understand everything till 25-40 then back to childhood.
    as for me i can’t remember i’ve ever grown up, but i have to admit i went through all that teenage shit and i’m happy it’s all over!

    btw do you wanna go back to your ex?

    Comment by a gay dad — June 9, 2007 @ 6.38p06

  2. hello i finished exams 😀 last one today
    i feel free
    ish
    lol
    luv ya xoxo

    Comment by courtney — June 14, 2007 @ 6.38p06

  3. I’ll let you know when I grow up – hasn’t happened yet!

    Comment by Sandra — June 23, 2007 @ 6.38p06

  4. Ash, I’m really thankful for your support! I have actually decided to enroll in that school, I’ll be moving all by my lonesome in August/September-ish. I visited there a couple weeks back, and I honestly hope that this will be the new age of schools. They definitely know how to let students just “be” and to learn on their own, so they can get a better grasp of what they want in life. On top of that, they have some awesome ways to solve the school violence problem. I don’t want to carry on forever here on your comment page, but guess what? I made a new blog, nothing like the old “wahhh I’m a teenager and emo and I want everyone to read my blog and i’m just following a trend” blog. This one’s for me, and what I believe in. Anyways, I hope we’re both online sometime soon!
    Peace

    Comment by Shona — June 24, 2007 @ 6.38p06


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

