sundog

January 10, 2007

Reactions to life’s difficulties and shit.

Filed under: Family, Friends, Happy, My Life — happychick @ 6.38p01

One of the worst things in the world must be losing someone you love. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those pompous, assuming pricks that don’t have a damn clue what they’re talking about.

As I’ve mentioned more than a few times before, my Daddy died when I was 9. 6 years have passed and the pain has all but faded. I’m not about to launch into a rant on how hard I’ve had it or how painful it all was- I’ve done that a few times before, too. No, what I really want to focus on is how people deal with things differently.

Mum (cynical female that she is), says that many people have bad things happen to them, but only some adopt a “victim mentality” (her words, not mine) and begin to believe that everything works against them.

And thinking about it now, I kinda agree. I mean, I know people my age who have worked themselves into such a self-destructive rut that I’d be surprised if they got their lives on track at all in the next ten years.

I’m pretty much speaking of one mate in particular.

He had a hard childhood. He really did and I’m not one to dispute that. His parents sucked at the most important job there is, he got lost in a world of hate and contempt for the world, and even now- especially now- he can’t seem to find a way to sort his life out. Not through lack of trying. He even moved across the state in a bid to find closure and a new start. But still “he has it bad” and he can’t stand to leave anything to chance. I worry for him greatly and I think it’s contributing to the pimple forming on my upper lip.

On the other hand, I’ve another mate in a similar situation. But he never kicked the bucket and grew disdainful and cold. In fact, he picked up a great job, and has a real plan for the future which I personally would love to see come into effect. I am so proud, and in fact, astonished at the way he has handled himself and I love to think that I have friends who can do that.

Now, I started the post with a little speal about losing a loved one. I fell into a dark hole of depression (oh God that was cliché) for a couple of years, and pretty much turned into on of those people I now find pathetic. It took a lot of help from my Mum and a few close mates to get me back on track, and if I hadn’t had those people there (yes Anushka, this means you), I probably would be a drug-addict, alcoholic, and… well, I’d be acting like a 15 year old hussy.

So if I’ve gone around in circles and contradicted myself- so sue me, you should expect that by now.

3 Comments »

  1. really thoughtful. “victim mentality” is a very brilliant idea and those are the losers. i think almost every one had fallen several times and some very great people pulled them outta their shit; they’re great but they can only help people who want to help themselves and get outta the shit. no one can help when you chain yourself to a big piece of shit, throw the key away and then shout “this shit never leaves me, help me but first let me drown”.
    huh irrelevant to your post,right? but i swear i got the point 🙂 i’m coming to get you (that’s my way of suing !)

    Comment by hellboy — January 10, 2007 @ 6.38p01

  2. I agree with Keith, which must mean…..something! 😀

    If life gives you lemons…..MAKE LEMONADE!

    Comment by Sandra — January 14, 2007 @ 6.38p01

  3. Life could be funny at times, but it take a standard way of living to help to upgrade someones life. life is not easy at all, b/cos there are so much, troubles and pains which some times could be difficult to with stand, life is cool and understanding and things move fast then they way ,people think and it not easy at all, but life could sweet,if people live a straight fopward life and not to pretend to it at all. life is sweet and interesting, if well lived.

    Comment by tina kenine — January 16, 2007 @ 6.38p01


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

