sundog

December 30, 2006

THOSE OF US WITH BRAINS CALL IT FREEDOM OF SPEECH.

Filed under: Angry, Family, Friends, Happy, My Life — happychick @ 6.38p12

Christmas. You either love it or you hate it, they say. Most people I know are of the former state of mind. My Step Dad is of the latter, but this comes as no surprise as he hates almost everything, in general.

This is the first Christmas I’ve spent away from home. This year my olds decided a change was necessary. So they packed us up, and took us on a 6 hour road trip to “get away from it all”.

I must admit, the week away was just what I needed to put things back into perspective and figure out what’s important.

Like a scene from a movie, the beach was pristine and deserted. Sure, it was hot, but the sea breeze was awesome.  And the tropical storm. There we were, sitting on the beach in the hot sun, and the next minute we were running for shelter like crazy loonies on loony tablets.

I got a laptop for Chrissie and so I recorder some of the events there:

Wednesday 27th

Today was a great day. I had a great day today. In fact, for a long time, I haven’t had a day as great as today was. Sure, I had a breakout. But basically, apart from that, my day was… great. Usually, “hang out with the folks” days are boring, painful or humiliating- often all three at one time. But today was different. As I may have mentioned, it was great.

Starting with a shopping spree (which no girl can a) avoid b) resist c) dislike), I went a little mad, buying bathers, tees and jeans. But I blame that on Mum, who seems to think that in order to survive in the jungle that is boarding school I must have new/expensive/brand-name everything… not that I’m complaining, I mean, it’s not as if I dislike in any way, shape or form owning new/expensive/brand-name clothes…

 

So we get back from shopping, which, most surprisingly, did not involve one fight, sook or dummy spit from any party, and we go… strap yourselves in, boys and girls… on a Camel Ride along the beach.. It was actually really, really fun. Made my ass more than a little numb, but on the plus side, there were a few relatively hot guys on the camels behind us :p. One of the guys who took us on the “trek” along the beach was highly amusing. He was obviously a “camel buff”, if that is even a thing. He owns a camel, takes it across the desert, competes in camel races (camel races. Alarming!!) I mean, he was hilarious. The whole thing was very informative, with his anecdotes about camels, his stories about camels, facts about camels, history of camels… Highly interesting, and something different. Another thing to tick off of my “to do list”, and as Mum says “at 15 you’re not doing so bad”.

 

The trek ended at 7.30, so we pretty much raced home, at a ham sandwich each for dinner (such healthy eating habits I’ve grown up with) and out again to the outdoor cinema- to watch a movie under the starts/moons/incoming planes flying exceptionally low. We saw “Eragon”, you know, the movie about the dragon riders? It was actually really cool. Great, even. There’s not very much more a person can say about a movie. 7/10, I guess.

So we come home and here we are watching ER. We ate pudding and custard for supper, yet another healthy meal in the Happychick household, and I’m about to turn off the laptop, brush my teeth, wait, yawning and weary for the end of ER and go to bed.

_________

 

 

That’s right- a Camel Ride!! Haha. I’ve pretty much decided that when me and Nush go backpacking around Aus, we are definitely going there. It was amazing.

 

Oh, and the “anonymous” commenter (yes, I know who you are my dear- sore losers are not hard to spot), whose email is Orange_gorrilaz@hotmail.com (feel free to spam) is basically one of those silly morons who try to act hardcore with a keyboard: Fighting online is like competing in the Special Olympics- even if you win you’re still a retard. But really, feel free to comment- I shall sit back and laugh at your stupidity.  But I will not reply as that involves effort I do not have.

 

Much love to all, hope you didn’t miss me too much :p

3 Comments »

  1. The camel ride sounds like fun if I were 40 years younger. 🙂

    The shopping trip sounds like it was great fun. You are going to be the envy on campus at your boarding school.

    Comment by jcoftw — December 31, 2006 @ 6.38p12

  2. omg camels did they smell real bad an stuff cause i remember i went on a camel ride once in hyde park and the camels smelt real bad… oh and they had camels at the christmas pageant.. but anyway i got a laptop to and now i feel all smart an stuff.

    oh an i hope you got some good lookin clothes have a good year luv me 😀

    Comment by Courtney — December 31, 2006 @ 6.38p12

  3. It seems to me that you use freedom of speech as an excuse to misbehave.

    Comment by Anonymous — February 14, 2011 @ 6.38p02


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

