sundog

October 17, 2006

Change is as good as a holiday…

Filed under: Family, Friends, My Life, School, Self Pity — happychick @ 6.38p10

Ah, my Aunty says “Change is as good as a holiday”… I always thought this was good advice… But, I dunno. Lately, here… I guess change takes a bit of getting used to.

School. School, school, school. LAME. Actually, I’d seriously forgotten how lame it actually was until I came back. Bitches, Whores, those God-forsaken “fairy shoes”… And! Just when we thought evil could corrupt the school no more? EMO HAIRCUTS. Yes, I admit it- they look hot on one chick. BUT! When you see 20 girls in succession with the same black hair, blonde streaks, side fringe… It gets old easily.

The first day kinda flew by- but don’t let that fool you into thinking it was anything but average… Gaping stares, shameless pointing… Stage whispering… Ugh. Cant say I expected anything less.

The deputy was pretty ok though- he gave me a little tour (didn’t have the heart to tell the guy I already knew where everything was), and put me in a lot of Anushka’s classes…

I heard “You’ve not changed a bit” too many times to be flattered- more alarmed. And so, I shall book myself in for a (NOT emo) haircut over the weekend, and change (at least a little bit).

Nanna does indeed have a computer (albeit dial-up and MSN-deificient)… works pretty good too.

Ah! Now, I’m pretty sure you’ll not have heard of him, but there’s this writer, Danny Katz. He’s Australian, and every week he writes an article in the TV Week. I even used to collect his articles (I know, Oh-so-sad, but I used to collect socks too- you’ve got to admit this was a healthier alternative)… Now, the guy’s a genius. And funny-as-hell too. If you ever get the chance to look at some of his work, you’ll pretty much laugh your ass off. For real.

I’m getting really homesick and Petesick… And it’s the first full day for God’s sake. I never thought it would be this hard to let him go…

I suppose writing in my blog here is the only really consistent thing right now… I’m feeling quite comfortable and right at home- good feeling to be experiencing in the current situation, if you ask me.

And now, I shall go, check all your blogs, hang out a bit and wallow in my misery… As you do… xxx

2 Comments »

  1. i love danny katz! he’s actually one of two writers that makes me laugh out loud! the other one is bill bryson whos also an actual legend lol.

    Comment by wallywally — October 18, 2006 @ 6.38p10

  2. With any luck, the settling in will get easier. I’m getting a laugh out of the idea of you going to a hairdresser and saying “anything but and emo cut!” 🙂

    Oh, and you can find Danny Katz articles on the website for The Age http://www.theage.com.au

    Comment by Mr Angry — October 20, 2006 @ 6.38p10


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

