sundog

July 15, 2006

Watch my Chops

Filed under: Friends, My Life, Self Pity — happychick @ 6.38p07

As mentioned once before, I love my watch. And when I was on holiday last time, Andy, Nush and I searched for a new watch for me, and found one. It was a wicked white one with pink stitching- totally not dirty-tryhard ways. So anyway, a month or so ago, when I did that play thing (you remember, the Romeo and Juliet one where I get stabbed and murdered by a three-foot man-girl?). Well, the damn thing cracked. But it was ok. Cracks aren’t that bad. I like to think they build character. Like scars, on a person. Or spots on a dog. That said, it was just a watch. Now, why, you may ask yourselves, am I talking about my dear watch in the past tense?

It’s quite emotional, really. I was at work, cooking fries (OMG how exitably exciting), and I hit my wrist on something, and it shattered. I’m not 100% sure where all the glass went, but, as yet, we have not been sued for stomach damage from glass-in-fries syndrome.

So it was broken. Smashed. No longer cool. No long did the crack give “character”. Nope. So, I dragged Pete down to the shops, where we picked out a new one. It’s not half as cool, if we’re going to be honest, but, I think it fits the quirky, eclectic Happychick theme I’ve got going on. 🙂

The thing is, it wasn’t about the watch. It was about the fact that I was emotionally attatched to a watch. It was about me, not being able to commit fully to a real person (ie. Pete), but practically crying when my God damned watch broke. How sad. That said, it was a special watch. I picked it out with my two best friends in the whole world, one of whom will b leaving for England in about a month.

I’m not gonna throw it out. In fact, I’ll probably keep it for many years to some, simply because it symbolises that which I love most in the world. My friends.

1 Comment »

  1. And your friends are sooooo lucky to have you. You have values beyond your years child.

    Comment by Sandra — July 15, 2006 @ 6.38p07


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

